Compassion UK/Rend Collective

On my 20th Birthday, I went to see Rend Collective play live. It was planned to be just a fun, small way to celebrate my birthday. I did not expect to end up making any lifelong commitments!

Rend Collective took some time out of their set to talk about Compassion UK. A Christian organisation with a heart for eliminating children from poverty. The organisation encourage people to sponsor a child for £25 a month. The monies will help that child afford educational opportunities, including literacy and life skills training; health care and health education; and, if required, supplemental nutrition. The children who are sponsored are the most neediest and come from all different walks of life. Once you have sponsored a child, you get to build a relationship and get to know more about the child by writing them letters.

I was deeply motivated to sponsor a child after the talk and decided to quit my gym, and put the money I spent on my membership towards providing a better life to a young girl in Nicaragua.

2 years on and I do not regret the commitment I made to my sponsor child. As a young person, it is so easy to make excuses about not having money, although we some how manage to spend so much on silly, pointless, self orientated things.

I am greatly passionate about this organisation and how they are changing the lives of so many young children all over the world. It is incredibly important that every child reaches their full potential and unfortunately not every body has a start in life that enables them to easily do so. It is organisations and charities like Compassion UK that enable children to build up the knowledge and skills to make a difference in the world and their communities.

I hope you feel encouraged to make a commitment to a cause that is close to your heart and will help positively change the world!

xoxo,

The Crunchy Rolling Life

Leave a Reply

